The Official TikkunGer Backup Blog

Just like the tittle says, this is my emergancy backup site

My Year in Review Post

Posted by Avi M on December 31, 2006

Well it’s 8:30 PM on December 31, 2006 and I’ve decided with it being the year end and all that it was the perfect time to do something of a “year in review” post. I can’t believe how much as happened in the last 365 days. I’m sure there’s growth and change that I’m not even aware of but the following are some of the highlights from this past year that do come to my mind.

I purchased my first digital camera and dove headfirst into the world of amateur digital photography. Although I still don’t really know what I’m doing I feel like I’ve come a long way and that I’ve managed to snap some pretty half decent pictures and so obviously this is one of my prouder accomplishments of the year.

This year I somehow managed to leave the left end of the sociopolitical spectrum now finding myself center-right on numerous issues. It’s been a frightening realization that I no longer fit into my long-held left-leaning belief system. The first inkling of my shift towards the center right was last March when I found myself in a position of supporting the conservative government here in Canada regarding Hamas. Then earlier this fall the death blow was dealt when I in a fit of frustration cut up my NDP membership card, signaling in an official way I suppose my leaving the left.

I started learning Hebrew with what I thought was a Hebrew tutor but ended up with my very own Ima instead. I’ve got to say that this is something really special to me because I didn’t expect it and it’s really blossomed into a beautiful friendship. My Ima is a very kind woman and has been a pivotal support during my conversion process and ongoing journey into Judaism. Thank you so much for being a part of my life Ima.

Also probably one of the biggest shockers of the year was my discovering the fact that I’ve grown a much more traditional orientation in terms of Jewish observance then I would’ve ever imagined possible. Rereading some of my earlier posts about Reform Judaism and my staunch defensiveness with regard to the validity of my conversion (as seen here and here) in contrast to my later leanings almost appear to be bipolar. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying that’s a bad thing it’s just interesting to see how I’ve gone from defending the reform position on conversion to gently bashing it (just a little) in less than a year. I can’t take credit for all of this on my own I think being exposed to Tamara and her attitudes has certainly helped push me in this more traditional direction and I take some comfort in knowing that wherever the dust settles it will be somewhere we arrived together.

And of course last but not least this past year has seen me going from ” no I absolutely don’t want a girlfriend under any circumstances” to meeting a lovely woman in another country , then falling in love and getting engaged! Yup meeting Tamara is definitely hands-down the best and most important thing to happen to me this past year and probably in my life. Here are three interesting posts tracking our relationship over the year that I feel do a good job of summing things up OneTwoThree.

Anyhow as you can see its been a good year and for the first time in a long while I can honestly write that I am actually looking forward to what life brings my way in 2007.

So with that HAPPY NEW YEAR”S to you and yours!

 

Technorati tags: , , ,
One Response to “My Year in Review Post”

  1. Tamara said

    First, Happy New Year Babe! I didn’t get in until almost 11pm my time and so you were already asleep for me to wish you one.

    When I read this post I got teary eyed because it reminded me of how much both our lives, although so far apart, are very much intertwined with eachother’s. It’s beautiful and I’m excited and feel special and mushy and good.

    I love you and can’t wait to spend next new year with you (and the next and next and next).

Leave a Reply

 
